What Are The Penalties In Delaware County For A First DUI Offense?
Although this is your First DUI offense in Pennsylvania, there is no assurance that the prosecution will be lenient with you. If you accept a plea deal or are convicted after a trial, you may still be considered guilty. The penalties for a first DUI in Delaware County are determined by the specifics of the case and may vary depending on the severity. However, completion of an alcohol safety course and possibly attending substance abuse treatment are standard penalties you will have to face.
Attorney James Bonner is considered one of the best DUI lawyers in Delaware County and has successfully handled hundreds of DUI cases all throughout Pennslvania.
Call him today at 610-450-4555 or fill out the contact form to schedule a Free Consultation.
Here are some examples of the potential penalties for a first DUI offense in PA:
- If a driver is convicted of a DUI due to impairment or a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% to less than .1%, they will have to pay $300 in fines, undergo a six-month probation term, and could be sentenced to a maximum of six months in jail.
- If someone is convicted of a DUI that resulted in injuries, death, or property damage, or if their BAC was between .1% and .16%, they may face 48 hours to six months in jail, fines between $500 and $5,000, and a 12-month suspension of their driver’s license.
- If a driver is convicted of DUI due to impairment and refuses to take a breath test, or if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .16% or they used controlled substances, they can face 72 hours to six months in jail, fines between $1,000 to $5,000, and a 12-month suspension of their license.
In addition to fines and imprisonment, getting convicted for your first DUI can lead to additional expenses such as increased insurance premiums, negative societal perception, and the revocation of other privileges.
What Tests Are Used In DUI Arrests In Delaware County?
To assess if a driver is driving under influence, law enforcement utilizes different methods. They will stop a driver and conduct these tests if there is suspicion of drunk driving. The test results may be presented in court if the driver is taken into custody.
Police officers use three standardized field sobriety tests which include the horizontal gaze nystagmus test, the walk and turn test, and the one-leg stand test. Individuals are not obligated to participate in these tests. Chemical tests such as breath, blood, or urine tests are used to determine a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC). For breath tests to be admissible in court, they must comply with both administrative and statutory regulations.
The methods commonly used to assess whether someone was driving under the influence include sobriety testing and blood alcohol content testing, but these methods have their limitations. The Best Delaware County criminal defense lawyers in their field have the expertise to challenge the validity of these tests, and weaken the case against you presented by the prosecution.
Get Legal advice from a Top Rated Delaware County DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a bad decision, but sometimes the methods used to prosecute offenders by authorities can be unfair or inconsistent with the situation. It may seem like pleading guilty to a DUI charge after an arrest will make things easier, but seeking the guidance of a DUI attorney in Delaware County may lead to a more favorable outcome.
Working with a knowledgeable DUI attorney like James H. Bonner will make sure you are aware that you have choices. He can effectively defend you against severe DWI and DUI charges by contesting the legality of your arrest and their testing procedures.